Tuesday, November 15, 2005

A Week's Progress

Mmmm what better way to spend your day off than going to Europe's biggest shopping mall, running errands, listening to show tunes, and updating my blog? (In case you didn't catch on, that's what I did today ;-D)

Well I must say that I've certainly settled into a pattern since arriving. I guess that's the way life goes when you are living in a (not quite) exotic location rather than just visiting it for a week or two, and I must say, since I am a creature of habit, it is nice to know what I will be doing from day to day. That's not to say that I don't add a dash of spice every now and then, though!

Teaching has been going well of late, which is really nice, I must say. Last week I even got to teach about as many classes as I was actually hired to do, so I didn't feel like a total lazy slug come Friday, which was very refreshing. I had a lesson with one of the classes/teachers that I dread last Tuesday, and it actually went really well. This is one of the teachers who gives me absolutely no guidance, no indication of the language level of the class, no hint as to what subject might be appropriate or might relate to the material they are studying, which is why I don't particularly enjoy working with him. It's like taking a shot in the dark and not knowing in which direction the target is located. Basically, with this guy I've had more "duds" than with any other teacher. BUT this week, in a 7th form class (17 year olds), I actually had a successful lesson!! Wahoo! Since it was a week after Halloween, I figured a Halloween-type topic might still be relevant, so I brought in a couple of "urban legends." You know the ones I mean - we always told these stories at slumber parties. The hook in the door, the ghost hitchhiker, etc. It was fun rather than informative, but the kids actually responded for once, and when I made them write their own urban legends at the end of the lesson, they didn't even complain. So yay for me.

Other than that, teaching was pretty standard for the week (no complaints out of me for that!) Because of all the days/weeks off, though, there are starting to be scheduling conflicts, which is annoying, because I get to be the lucky person in the middle. I basically have a schedule where I have at least 2, sometimes 3 classes per class period, and I rotate classes each week, which means if there is a day off, everything gets thrown off. Ugh. Oh well, I guess it's part of the job. Hopefully I have enough diplomatic and people skills to maneuver through!!

University classes are going well. I don't want to sound snobby or anything, and maybe it's just that I've done a poor job of choosing classes for myself, but so far, university is so much easier than what I'm used to in the States. There is virtually no homework -- no essays, very little reading (optional reading at that), and classes are often pure lecture (even the ones that aren't supposed to be set up like that!) So, I'm not complaining because it does make my life easier, but I really feel like I'm not doing anything in terms of my own classes. Going to class is always good, but they only meet for 2 hours a week (and in European university time, that means 1.5 hours MAX, usually shorter.) So, it's definitely different, that's for sure. Next semester I'm really going to try to shake things up a bit.

And in the rest of life.....all is well :-) Lots of fun, lots of friends, lots of activity, just like I like it! Last Tuesday I met Alexis after work for lunch and photocopying, which involved an interesting excursion to one of the university subject libraries. The uni has an entire library of works in English, including a rather extensive collection of British and American literature. When we discovered this, we were very excited because English language books here are not cheap (paperbacks are about twice as expensive as at home.) So we tried to check out a Jane Austen anthology and a book by Faulkner. I had already picked up my library card, so we thought there would be no problem. Alas, we were wrong. The university library here is "not a lending library" (direct quote from the librarian, who refused to speak to us in German), and actually, I'm not sure if there are any lending libraries here. Thus, if we want to even read a novel, we must do it in the library, during library hours. Hmph. So there goes that plan. Oh well, I'll make do...I can read the classics online anyway, if I want to. After the library, Alexis and I went to the movies. Yes, okay, fine, I saw Pride and Prejudice again. 4th time, and I'm not ashamed! :-D

Wednesday evening, Kelly, Danny, Ted, Kim, and I met at Cafe Central to discuss our potential trip to Tunisia. And the verdict? We are going!! Yesssssssssss!! And luckily, since our break falls during the off-season, we were able to get airfare, 7 nights in a 4-star hotel on the beach, and 2 meals a day for 324E per person. I've (naturally) already ordered my Lonely Planet Tunisia (best travel guides EVER), and I'm getting really excited. *Warning* history nerdiness is about to be displayed *Warning* The ancient Phoenecian city of Carthage is located in Tunisia and is actually very close to where we will be staying!!! (Carthage was defeated and basically destroyed by Rome during the Punic Wars. It should be a fascinating site, and I am absolutely thrilled to be able to go see it!!!) There are also bazaars, caves to explore, islands to visit...it should be amazing!!

For anyone worried about safety, yes, Tunisia is a Muslim country, but it is just about the safest place in the Muslim world that a westerner can visit. Women have equal status with men, and Tunisia is a leading advocate of achieving peace in the Middle East. Also, we will be geographically closer to Sicily than we will to any of Tunisia's neighboring countries (not to mention that Ted has a friend living there, so we have a native contact in case of emergencies.) And after what has been going on in France recently, and after London this summer, Madrid, New York, who is to say that the West is safe anyway? We will be fine :-)

Right. Back to Vienna. After making our decision, Kim, Danny, and I headed to (wait....I said I'd never tell anyone that I did this....oh well) TGI Friday's for dinner. I couldn't help it!! The day before, I had been sitting in my room thinking, "good grief I need a hamburger!" So I went to the probably the only place in Vienna that would serve a decent slab of ground beef on a bun with cheese, lettuce, and ketchup -- an American hamburger chain :-) It was everything I thought it would be....and more. I don't regret a bite of that hamburger!!

Thursday Alexis and I had one of our aerobics classes after work, which was fun. I almost passed out at the end though...this Thursday I really have to remember to drink water before I go, because every time I don't, I basically almost pass out. Bad idea. That night, after class, Alexis, Kim, Kelly, Danny, Kristina, and I headed to this Thai restaurant near Kristina's apartment. Kelly got there after everyone else, and sadly by the time she arrived, we'd finished eating (but my green curry was soooooooooooo good!!!) I would have stayed (and probably would have had an appetizer!) with her, but she, along with Danny and Kim and I, decided that McDonald's was more our speed at that point, so we walked down the street towards the land of McFlurries. Hahaha it was a good time :-)

On Friday, Alexis and I went purse shopping, which was fun. I almost bought a 90E coat, but I came to my senses at the last minute, when I realized I'd basically be spending a 10th of my monthly income on a coat I don't need...I totally would have had buyer's remorse on that one!! But the coat was sooo cute!!! Ahhh well, I made the right decision. Friday night, Alexis and Kim came over, and we ordered pizza, rented Harry Potter 1, 2, AND 3, and curled up for a Harry Potter marathon. Since we have tickets for the English premier, we naturally had to prepare. That night we only made it through 1 and 2, so on Saturday Alexis and I watched the third, as Kim was on a train to Berlin. After the movie, we cooked breakfast for dinner - pancakes and a scramble consisting of eggs, potatoes, peppers, and cheese. Deeeeelicious!! I'm going to have to make pancakes more often, I think :-) So now, we are officially ready for Harry Potter Thursday night!! (We originally had tickets for Tuesday, but when we realized that it could only be shown dubbed into German over here until the American premier, we exchanged our tickets for Thursday night, when we can finally see it in English...I don't care, as long as I see it before my sisters, I'm happy :-D)

Sunday went as Sundays usually do...church and work. I had lunch with Kristina, which was really nice. We experienced the infamously terrible service at Viennese cafes (we sat for 30 minutes trying to flag down a waitress to order), but that is part of the...charm? Sunday night I talked to Sheila for the first time since I got here...it was SO great to hear her delightful voice again :-) The strangest coincidence happened regarding her rooming situation in Philly -- she basically randomly ended up with a friend of mine from my high school church youth group. So weird, I'm telling you!

Yesterday was school again, and aerobics, and today was (yet another) day off from school. I slept in (mmmmmmmm :-D), and then Alexis and I went to Ikea to get her a bookshelf, which was fun. Walking around that place always makes me wish I had an apartment/house of my own to decorate!! And now here I am, listening to Les Miserables and avoiding doing my lesson planning by spending a few hours writing my blog :-) I hope you enjoy my procrastination techniques!!

Miss you. Love you. Ciao!

P.S. Here is some happy birthday lovin' to Emily :-)

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

<< Home