Random Thoughts in a Random Order
It has been a long time since I started a new job. The last new job I started was over a year ago, at Kenmont/Kenwood, and that was a bit different since it was a summer camp, and all the counselors were new. I guess the last job I had where I really was the "new kid on the block" was when I began my internship at the State Dept. It's stressful! I mean, I have really had a relatively easy week -- I have really only taught 2 classes a day, but I already have a newfound respect for my teachers, especially my high school teachers. They are going going going all day long without any real breaks. They have to always be "on." They are always on their feet. Sheesh who new? :-PI guess it is going well so far, as the kids have so far responded pretty well (for the most part...there was one class *shudder*), but I still don't feel as though I know the ropes, the building, the faces, etc etc etc. Ah well, I guess that's how it always goes!
Most of the class time so far has consisted of question-and-answer sessions. Actually, 3 of the 5 classes I've visited have been just that. I did actually teach one class (talk about trial by fire -- I met the teacher for the first time, and she said "you are with me tomorrow. We are talking about rules -- family, school, etc. Prepare something and you can teach the class." Yikes!) So I did. I prepared a three part lesson -- discussion of family rules and the differences b/t America and Austria, and the same for school, and government, and I wrapped it up by telling them my favorite silly laws. It actually went really well. They were younger (3rd form, or 7th grade), so they weren't scary :-) They also spoke, which is the goal of the whole excercise. For example, they were very good at expressing their horror at the thought of having to wear a uniform to school like I did. (I didn't even try to go into why I think uniforms are a good idea....)
Another class I had was awful. Seriously. They were SOO loud, and the teacher just kept shouting, and I just stood their feeling awkward. You see, in Austria, the teachers have no real means of recourse in controlling students. They have no authority to punish, outside of extra homework, which they don't have to turn in anyway. No detention. No demerits. No threat. So why would the "bad kids" respond at all? And they didn't. Meh. I don't think most of my lessons will be like that, thank the Lord!
So that's teaching, for now. Hopefully I'll improve as time goes on! I registered for classes this week. So far, I am in a class called "Empire und Demokratie" (pretty self explanatory title...looks very interesting.) My other class I am even more excited about. It is called "From War to Peace: International Conflict De-escalation." I know I know...it's super dorky. But I am VERY excited...it fits in well with my research topic on Multilateral Diplomacy and using multilateral solutions instead of bilateralism, and it should be fascinating. I'm still trying to decide if I want to sign up for anything else yet. There is no limit on the courses I can take -- only on the time I have to take them!
Registration itself was a b**** though. Like I explained earlier, there is no university-wide registration. Rather, it all occurs through the departments. This year, the PolySci department converted to online registration, which should have been simpler, but for some strange reason my account (and those of Kim and Alexis who are also in the PolySci Dept) only had info regarding my financial status and nothing about registration. So, being the resourceful young Fulbrighter that I am, I just emailed the professors, dropped the name "Fulbright," and explained about my technological woes. They were very understanding, and both signed me into their classes. Hurrah! The only problem -- they both addressed me as "Herr Fowler." *sigh* I guess I'm used to it by now, but sometimes it's annoying that my female (in America) name actually translates into German as "little Carl." Kinda like Mikey, or Tommy, or Danny. Meh. Are they in for a shock on the first day of class! ;-D
In other news (and this is slightly out of the ordinary, as I try to keep the personal stuff out of this blog, but this has to do with Vienna in a very roundabout sort of the way), yesterday Gregory and I celebrated the end of our second year together and the beginning of our third. It was a rather melancholy sort of celebration, but I guess being 4000 miles apart will do that, won't it? I haven't been homesick since I got here, not really, but I was yesterday, and I was when I woke up this morning. Sometimes you just want to be with the people you love, and those who really love and know you, you know?
Anyway, that brings me to my next topic: Ikea. I know, a rather abrupt transition, but it does make sense. I decided that I didn't want to be depressed and homesick all day. I knew I'd probably be home by noon, so Kim and I decided to take the Ikea bus to the ginormous store about 30 minutes outside the city. Yes, the store provides a bus from the Staatsoper every hour and half so poor souls without cars like us can enjoy the magic that is cheap home furnishings! I desperately needed a) a night table, and b) some color in my lovely, but drab room, so I purchased 3 colorful pillows (pink and light blue), a (light blue) night table, and a (light blue and pink) poster...hmm...sensing a theme here....I also got some slippers. Hey -- they were on sale for 3E...how could I not?? :-P Silly me. All told, my shopping excursion cost me only 30E. Not bad, considering I spent about that much on another (light blue) poster the other day!! But that one is a print of a van Gogh painting that I love -- a sailboat out on the ocean. Gorgeous!!!
Continuing on my crusade to stay busy, I met up with Jo after I returned from shopping, and I got to see the Diplomatische Akademie (where I originally proposed to study). It is NICE...they have waiters that serve them lunch. But, it is small, and everything is in the same building, so I gather that it would be very easy to stay there and not get out much. It was good to see Jo. We went on a walk, ended up in a lovely little cafe (after getting lost), and ate Palatschinken (mmmmmm crepes!!)
All told, it ended up being an (extremely) busy day, but it was a good one. No homesickness in this body! A cold, yes, but homesickness, no. And that is good enough for now.
I miss you all...please send me emails, comments, whatever...let me know what's going on and how you are doing :-)
Ciao.

0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home